Statement by the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Egypt


On Tuesday, the All Party Parliamentary Group for Egypt hosted a discussion in Parliament between a non-official group of Egyptian representatives and representatives of Human Rights Watch.  

The meeting was hosted by the co-chairs of the APPG, The Rt. Hon. Stephen Timms MP and Mr Jonathan Lord MP.  Lord Stone of Blackheath, Lord Marlseford DL and Mr Samir Takla, the group’s advisor, were also in attendance.

The Egyptian group consisted of Dr Mahmoud Karem of the Egyptian National Council for Human Rights; Dr Maya Morsi, President of the Egyptian National Council for Women; Mrs. Dalia Youssef MP, chair of the Egyptian-British Parliamentary Group; Judge Ms. Marwa Barakat; and Dr Heba Hagrass MP, member of the Egyptian Parliament’s Social Solidarity, Family, and Persons with Disabilities Committee.

Human Rights Watch was represented by North Africa and Middle East officer Amr Magdi, senior legal advisor Clive Baldwin, women’s rights officer Rothna Begum and advocacy and communications officer Myrto Tilianaki.

The discussion entailed a constructive exchange of views, and ideas for future co-operation.